Programs / Events

    • Tuesday, January 13, 2015
    • 5:30 PM - 8:30 PM
    • WPI Rubin Campus Center

    Once your IP is developed, there are several important decisions you’ll need to make about protecting your new asset well before commercialization, investment, or exit. Learn about successful IP commercialization strategies at The Venture Forum’s January 13 meeting. Hear valuable insights into significant real-world IP examples from a genetics analytics entrepreneur, a patent attorney, and an IP valuation expert.

    The Venture Forum is pleased to kick off the New Year 2015 with three notable IP speakers: Kryngle Daly of KBioBox, Brian Dingman of Dingman, McInnes & McLane, and Andrew Bostian of BlumShapiro. A Q&A will follow each presentation.

    Join us January 13 in WPI’s Rubin Campus Center at 5:30pm with networking and food. The program starts at 6:30pm. Read more about this month’s speaker line up:

    Show details:

    Kryngle Daly is founder and Chief Science Officer of KBioBox. His start-up provides premium genomic analysis services that bridge the gap between fast, affordable DNA sequencing and slow, costly sequence analysis, providing answers in minutesundefinednot days. Daly’s goal is to provide novel in-silico techniques to the life sciences to reduce R&D time and costs. Recently, he filed a provisional patent and a utility patent for KBioBox's algorithms. The lessons learned from this experience? Daly cites working with patent attorneys from ideation to submitting multiple provisional patents to determine a strong set of claims for algorithms requiring hardware and software to implement.

    A registered patent attorney, Brian Dingman is founder of Dingman, McInnes & McLane and chair of the firm’s patent practice. Dingman’s practice represents companies with critical intellectual property requirements and assists clients with developing strategies to procure U.S. and overseas patents. He possesses a wealth of experience positioning intellectual property assets for sale or license and negotiating and drafting intellectual property transfer agreements. Active in patent litigation matters, representing both plaintiffs and defendants in courts throughout the U.S., Dingman also counsels clients in pre-litigation strategies aimed at bolstering intellectual property assets and prospectively resolving potential disputes.

    Andrew Bostian, manager in BlumShapiro’s Litigation Services and Business Valuation Group, performs valuations of tangible and intangible assets such as intellectual property and privately held businesses for tax, corporate restructuring, and commercial litigation purposes. The companies and IP valued consist of domestic and foreign assets and entities in diverse business lines. Bostian’s prior valuation engagements include IP valuation for determining ongoing royalty payments or buy-in payment for cost-sharing arrangements. In corporate acquisitions, Bostian has valued intangibles with important implications for purchase-price allocations.
    • Tuesday, February 10, 2015
    • 5:30 PM - 8:30 PM
    • TBD

    More details to come.

    • Tuesday, March 10, 2015
    • 5:30 PM - 8:30 PM
    • TBD

    More details to come.

    • Tuesday, April 14, 2015
    • 5:30 PM - 8:30 PM
    • TBD

    More details to come.

    • Tuesday, May 12, 2015
    • 5:30 PM - 8:30 PM
    • TBD

    More details to come.

    • Tuesday, June 09, 2015
    • 5:30 PM - 8:30 PM
    • TBD

    More details to come.

Past events

Tuesday, December 09, 2014 Attract Investor Attention in Innovative Ways
Tuesday, November 11, 2014 Choosing Your Target Market…Let It Choose You
Tuesday, October 14, 2014 Build Your Team to Create Together
Tuesday, September 09, 2014 War Stories from Successful Entrepreneurs
Tuesday, June 10, 2014 Guy Kawasaki on Getting Your First Investment
Tuesday, May 13, 2014 Manufacturing How-tos for Startups
Tuesday, April 08, 2014 Battling Diabetes and Obesity with Technology and Exercise
Tuesday, March 11, 2014 Five-Minute Pitch Contest
Tuesday, February 11, 2014 Stages of Social Innovation Growth
Tuesday, January 14, 2014 Innovation Fair
Tuesday, December 10, 2013 Personalized Medicine
Tuesday, November 12, 2013 Business Plan Contest
Tuesday, October 08, 2013 Lean Startups
Tuesday, September 10, 2013 "Visions of Growth" with Tim Murray and Michael O'Brien.
Saturday, September 07, 2013 Jim Fee Start-up Clinic
Tuesday, June 11, 2013 Ask the Experts
Tuesday, May 14, 2013 Go To Market: Market, Sell or Perish - The Most Critical Phase of a Fledgling Business
Tuesday, April 09, 2013 Building the Team - The Most Critical Part of a Nascent Business
Tuesday, March 12, 2013 Networking Event at Metso Automation
Tuesday, February 12, 2013 5 Minute Pitch Contest

SPONSORS

      

   

    

Copyright 2014 - The Venture Forum

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software